British Democracy Forum
Web | Images | Groups | News | Advanced
Google
Worldwide Results UK Focused Results

Go Back   British Democracy Forum > Anti-EU, Euroscepticism and European reformism > UKIP General Issues


You can remove this advert by logging in or registering
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 23-07-2006, 10:39 PM   #41 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 934
progcon.org is just starting out
Default

You seem to have gone quiet Anthony.

I consider john page creating a site using a name identical to a rival candidate's official campaign site bar the domain ending, Matt publishing the link noting that DCB's site had 'moved', and you keeping the link online, when all three of you are listed supporters of richard's campaign to be 'dirty tricks'.

Show me how that is a lie or apologise.

Surely this thread needs to be renamed again to "Chad Noble exposes dirty tactics"?
progcon.org is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote

You can remove this advert by logging in or registering
Old 23-07-2006, 10:54 PM   #42 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 584
Richard Allen is just starting out
Default

Chad

Perhaps you can explain how John's site has anything to do with dirty tricks. It makes clear that it is not a pro DCB site and actually links to DCB's official site.
Richard Allen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2006, 10:56 PM   #43 (permalink)
Uber Member
 
SponPlague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Zurich
Posts: 3,401
SponPlague is just starting out
Default

The Tories started it by registering www.UKIP.ORG.UK/

Rather than worrying about spoof websites I'd rather you folks worried about sadly all too real websites such as UKIP Eastleigh - featuring Jeffrey Titford MEP and UKIP Leader as a banner on every page!
SponPlague is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2006, 11:03 PM   #44 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 934
progcon.org is just starting out
Default

Quote:
Chad
Perhaps you can explain how John's site has anything to do with dirty tricks. It makes clear that it is not a pro DCB site and actually links to DCB's official site.
More than happy to do so.

It is a well used dirty tricks technique, because by replicating the exact name as the official site, it may index in the search engines in a similar way and appear on searches above the official site (if structured better) and thus cause confusion.

It has been done time and time again. It can be effective, but it is a simple dirty tricks strategy.

I have no intention of doing it, but by registering richard4leader.com, being the .com tld, if I put that online then linked to it via SatireSearch with its 10k visitors a day, I could easily return a higher search engine result than richard and cause serious disruption.

You don't believe me?

Just look at one of my (old content) sites below that comes out top of 70 million pages for a search of european alliance. That is a regular site, but well indexed. however, I know the damage these site can do, and that is why I sought to get Richard' s supporters to act reasonably and remove them, rather than fuel open warfare.

John has every right to be critical. However by putting his criticisms on a site with an identical name to the official campaign site and near identical url rather than his own,already live blog, there was clearly an intention to gain traffic at DCB's expense.

As John admitted, his site is not a spoof site. It is an anti-DCB site, seeking to use DCB's domain name to misdirect traffic. Simple dirty tricks. The linking back to the official site actually makes it worse, as it makes it a related site and thus could improve the site's search results.

http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en...e+Search&meta=
progcon.org is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2006, 11:19 PM   #45 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 584
Richard Allen is just starting out
Default

No Chad it is not a well used dirty tricks technique.

It would be a dirty tricks technique if it pretended to be a pro-DCB site or you could have a slight case if a link to DCB's site wasn't displayed. Anyone looking for DCB's site who comes accross John's site can immediately follow the link he provides to DCB's site.

As someone who has used similar sites you are not only wrong but guilty of extreme hypocricy.
Richard Allen is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 01:16 AM   #46 (permalink)
Uber Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: N'Djamena, Chad
Posts: 2,060
BASILDON BOY is just starting out
Default

....please Liberal Democrats - we have a lovely new shiny member for you - we will pay his membership fee!

.....this is a non returnable offer though!
BASILDON BOY is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 01:47 AM   #47 (permalink)
Uber Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London
Posts: 2,492
Independent UKIP has some supporters
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BASILDON BOY
....please Liberal Democrats - we have a lovely new shiny member for you - we will pay his membership fee!

.....this is a non returnable offer though!
Genuine question here Basildon Boy, if that is OK? Why were you hostile to progcon.org during his early/ish membership of this forum? I can think of several possible reasons but would be interested in your actual views on that.

Thanks in advance.
Independent UKIP is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 07:34 AM   #48 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 934
progcon.org is just starting out
Default

Quote:
No Chad it is not a well used dirty tricks technique.
Hi Richard. Yes, it is, pure and simple, imho, but of course it is a subjective call.

It aims to gains traffic that is likely to actually want to go to another site,hence the deliberate (as John admits) use of the identical name.

So if someone types 'dcb2win' they would be looking for DCB's site but could accidentally end up on John's anti-DCB line.

However, my view that it is dirty tricks is as valid as yours that it is not. I have explained why I believe it to be so.


BB wrote:
Quote:
we have a lovely new shiny member for you -
Do you mean by 'we' that you are a UKIP member BB? What's your real name?
progcon.org is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 07:59 AM   #49 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sandhurst
Posts: 1,031
Lawrie Boxall is just starting out
Default

All is fair in love war and politics Chad you know that. At least Richard Ski's supporters are overtly trying to counter their opponents campaigns rather than the kind of snide asides and briefings against individuals that Nigel used to specialise in - as you will no doubt learn one day.
Lawrie Boxall is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2006, 08:01 AM   #50 (permalink)
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Welwyn Hatfield (Herts.)
Posts: 1,878
John Page is just starting out
Default

Quote:
if someone types 'dcb2win'
Hardly likely!
John Page is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!FuzzFizz It!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

This site is owned and operated by MyCartel Limited © 2007. Hosting: BookFizz.
This site supports Label My Food and Politigg
My latest commercial site: Cell Phone News 2.0 - [Mobile version]

Mobile version

Politishop

eXTReMe Tracker
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0